Weekend Rewind – February 25 & 26

Albums Listened To:

  • Baked Farnham; Key Track: “Them”
  • Matthew Lee Cothran Judas Hung Himself In America; Key Track: “Judas In America”
  • Dude York Sincerely Yours; Key Track: “Black Jack”
  • Future HNDRXX; Key Track: “Damage”
  • Kingdom Tears in the Club; Key Track: “Nothin (feat. Syd)”
  • No Joy Creep EP; Key Track: “Califone”
  • Thundercat Drunk; Key Track: “Walk On By (feat. Kendrick Lamar)”
  • Wild Pink Wild Pink; Key Track: “Wizard of Loneliness”
  1. Los Campesinos! – Sick Scenes

The sixth album from the Welsh indie rockers finds them taking lessons from their previous two albums. about how blend the twee characteristic that defied them early on and more straight up indie and alt rock.

Rating: B+

Key Tracks: “I Broke Up in Amarante; 5 Flucloxacillin; Sad Suppers

  1. Vagabon – Infinite Worlds

Laetitia Tamko goes by Vagabon and performs bare bones indie rock that mixes in several different styles such as ambient, pop, and punk.

Rating: A-

Key Tracks: “Minneapolis”, “Cleaning House”, “Fear & Force”

  1. Dirty Projectors – Dirty Projectors

David Longstreth uses this album mostly as a solo vehicle. Each song is built on multiple pop layers that at sometimes feels very chaotic but at the same time feels like Longstreth is bearing himself.

Rating: A-

Key Tracks: “Keep Your Name”, “Winner Takes Nothing”, “Work Together”

  1. Stormzy – Gang Signs & Prayers

This may only be his debut album but Stormzy proves he’s already one of the best in grime.

Rating: A-

Key Tracks: “Big For Your Boots”, “Cigarettes & Cush (feat. Kehlani)”, “Return of the Rucksack”, “First Things First”

  1. Omar Sosa & Seckou Keita – Transparent Water

Cuban composer and jazz pianist Omar Sosa collaborated on a joint album with Senegalese kora player Seckou Keita to create a masterpiece that will carry you away on a wave of relaxation from the very first notes. Transparent Water brings in guest from around the world to include Latin percussion, Chinese sheng, and Japanese koto.

Rating: A+

Key Tracks: “Dary”, “Tama-Tama”, “Moro Yeye”

Notable Tracks:

If you haven’t heard the new diss track from Remy Ma, you NEED too. The most talked about track of this weekend, “shETHER”, is Remy Ma’s 7-minute diss track against Nicki Minaj. Minaj has dissed Remy Ma indirectly on “Make Love”, her collab track with Gucci Mane from January. Nicki Minaj rapped “You see, silly rabbit, to be the queen of rap, you gotta sell records, you gotta get plaques/S, plural like the S on my chest, Now sit your dumbass down. You got an F on your test.” From even just the album art, a disassembled black barbie doll with pink hair with blood stain, and the track title, a reference to Nas’ clap-back against Jay-Z “Ether” that is considered to be one of the greatest diss tracks of all time. Remy responded hard to Minaj throughout the track, including about being the Queen of Rap with the lines, “And to be the Queen of Rap, you gotta actually rap/The whole industry know that your shit is a wrap/No, to be the Queen of Rap, you can’t have a ghostwriter/And that’s why this is my house, Flo Rida!” Check out the monstrous track below:

Last night Swizz Beatz and Just Blaze did a “battle of the beats” that live-streamed on YouTube. During that battle Swizz put on an unreleased song that seems to feature Jay-Z, Nas, DMX, and Jadakiss. Swizz confirmed it with this tweet and gif of Busta’ Rhymes’ reaction. The track is rumored to be from DMX’s upcoming album and is titled “Zombies”. Check it out at the 2:27:11 mark.


Roc Marciano has released another new track from his upcoming album. The track is “Marksmen” featuring Ka. The beat is a looped minimal soul track. Rosebudd’s Revenge is out now.


Canadian singer/songwriter Feist has a new album coming out in April. In an article by the Huffington Post that discusses Feist’s mission to collect 6,000 backpacks for HIV+ kids in Malawi, it mentions in passing that she’ll have her new album out in April and that a new Broken Social Scene album is coming out this year too.

Singer/Songwriter and musician Juliana Hatfield, an alt rock staple since the early-mid 90s is releasing a new political album at the end of April. In the info on the pre-order page, she says, “‘I wasn’t planning on making a record,’ says Juliana Hatfield, of her new “Pussycat” album. In fact, she thought her songwriting career was on hiatus, and that she had nothing left to say in song form; that she had finally said it all after two decades as a recording artist. But then the presidential election happened. ‘All of these songs just started pouring out of me. And I felt an urgency to record them, to get them down, and get them out there.’” Pussycat will be released on 4/28 via American Laundromat Records. More info and pre-order here.

Panic! At The Disco’s lead man Brendan Urie was forced to move homes due to feeling unsafe from constant letters, gifts, visits, and harassment from fans and strangers.

Lana Del Rey is trying to quash Trump’s powers via witchcraft. More info on this via Noisey and how to get involved here.

Johnathan Dick of Noisey interviewed rennaisance man James Maynard Keenan of Tool and Puscifer. They sat down to discuss Keenan’s new biography A Perfect Union of Contrary Things. Read here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s